SPANK BOO (Jean- Philippe Tremblay)

Available Works


Biography


Born of the Skateboard culture, Jean-Philippe, born January 14, 1981 in Montreal, lives in the Eastern Townships. Like many artists of his generation, using aerosol cans and a pseudonym (Spank Boo) he made his first graffiti on bridges, walls of factories and schools. A few years later, his first paintings are inspired by an imaginary and futuristic world, then by the realism of humans and the marine world.

The discovery of airbrushing, training, research and testing will allow him to develop expertise and processes so that his illustrations stand the test of time, be it on plastics, metals, textiles and other materials.

In a professional way he creates his first creations for a snowboard manufacturer. For the past 15 years, he has painted his illustrations on theme park components in more than 35 countries, on automobiles exhibited at the Auto Show, at Formula 1 Grand Prix, on motorcycles, bicycles, boats, circus clothing and accessories, inflatable structures, etc.

His passion for art also brought him to 3D animation, digital painting and, of course, canvas painting. His paintings are little known to the general public and the world of galleries. The few works produced annually are usually ordered or purchased by insiders.

SPANK BOO (Jean- Philippe Tremblay)

Oeuvres Disponibles


Biographie


Issu de la culture du Skateboard, Jean-Philippe, né le 14 janvier 1981 à Montréal vit aujourd’hui dans les Cantons de l’Est. Comme plusieurs artistes de sa génération, à l’aide de canettes aérosol et sous un pseudonyme (Spank Boo) il réalise ses premiers graffs sur des ponts, murs d’usines et d’écoles.  Quelques années plus tard, ses premières toiles sont inspirées par un monde imaginaire et futuriste, puis par le réalisme des humains et du monde marin.

La découverte de l’aérographie, des formations, recherches et essaies lui permettront de développer une expertise et des procédés pour que ses illustrations résistent à l’épreuve du temps, que ce soit sur des plastiques,  métaux, textiles et autres matériaux.

De façon professionnelle il produira ses premières créations pour un fabriquant de snowboards.  Depuis maintenant 15 ans, il peint ses illustrations sur des composantes de parcs thématiques situés dans plus de 35 pays ainsi que sur des automobiles exposées au Salon de l’auto, au Grand-Prix de formule 1, sur des motos, vélos, bateaux,  des vêtements et accessoires de cirque, des structures gonflables, etc. 

Sa passion pour l’art l’amène également à toucher à l’animation 3D, la peinture numérique et bien entendu la peinture sur canevas. Ses toiles sont peu connues du grand public et du monde des galeries. Les quelques œuvres réalisées annuellement sont commandées ou achetées par des initiés.