In Quebec and everywhere else, the art market has changed a lot in the last decade. What may have seemed like an investment in the early 2000s can now be seen by some collectors as an expense with little growth potential.

For the average art lover, the main criterion that motivates the purchase of a work of art remains – and must remain – the “wow factor” because living with a work of art is an emotional experience above all. The potential for monetary growth should only come into play once you are sure you love the work.

That being said, there are still relatively safe values ​​in the art world.

Of course, we are talking about “historical” artists such as Marc-Aurèle Fortin, Ozias Leduc and Jean-Paul Riopelle in Quebec, as well as international masters such as Picasso, Matisse and Modigliani, who have proven their value on both national and international markets.

From a more affordable perspective, it remains, on the local market, artists whose rating remains enviable and are still within the reach of most collectors.

One of them is part of a select group that can boast of having developed a market both in Quebec and in Europe and who has even made a foray into the Asian markets!

Born October 4, 1953 in Brussels, Belgium, Roland Palmaerts comes from a family of painters with whom he made his initial apprenticeship. Early, he won at 10 years old the Tintin National Competition. He then perfected his training at the Institut Saint-Luc and at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts in Brussels.

He began his military service in 1972 as a para-commando.

In 1980, his adventurous spirit pushed him to immigrate to Canada where he worked as a designer and illustrator before devoting himself exclusively to painting from 1984 on. He devoted the next two decades to the creation but also to the teaching of watercolor both in Quebec and in Europe. Very active in the art world, Roland Palmaerts is a member of the Canadian Society of Watercolor (SCA), the European Institute of Watercolor (IEA) and was for five years president of the Institut des Arts figuratifs (IAF).

He returned to live in Belgium permanently in the mid-2000s, but still has roots in Quebec, which he visits several times a year.

In 2013, he gives himself a challenge when celebrating his sixtieth birthday. Indeed, he established, in the paper-making town of Arches in France in October 2013, a Guinness World Record in which he did in sixty hours of NON STOP painting – three days and two nights, sixty meters of paintings painted in watercolor!

Palmaerts is now known as an artist and pedagogue and his various workshops in both Europe and Quebec are attended by both painting professionals and art enthusiasts. On this subject, in the autumn of 2018, he revealed to the Belgian press that he had been teaching Philippe, the King of Belgium for a few years!

From the point of view of the market value of the artist’s works, an overview of auction results in recent years shows excellent stability in his aftermarket sales.

As for the retail market, the demand for the work of this international artist has remained stable for several years and his works are present in several art galleries in Quebec, in Europe and even, as we wrote above, in Asia!

Year in, year out, Roland Palmaerts remains one of the bestselling artists in a difficult and changing market.

Although no one is a prophet in the art world, it seems likely that this trend will continue for years to come. It is therefore likely that, at the very least, a painting by Palmaerts will keep its value and maybe even increase over time!

S.M.Pearson,  Le Balcon d’Art

18713

Picture 1 of 118

Au Québec et comme partout ailleurs, le marché de l’art a changé depuis la dernière décennie. Ce qui pouvait sembler être un investissement au tournant des années 2000 peut maintenant être vu par certains collectionneurs comme une dépense avec peu de potentiel de croissance.

Pour la moyenne des amateurs d’art, le critère principal qui motive l’achat d’une œuvre reste – et doit rester – le facteur « coup de cœur » car vivre avec une œuvre d’art est une expérience émotionnelle avant tout.  Le potentiel de croissance monétaire ne devrait entrer en compte qu’une fois qu’on soit certain d’aimer l’œuvre.

Ceci étant dit, il demeure des valeurs relativement sûres dans le monde de l’art.

On parle évidemment des artistes « historiques » tels Marc-Aurèle Fortin, Ozias Leduc, Jean-Paul Riopelle au Québec ou les Maîtres internationaux tels Picasso, Matisse ou Modigliani qui ont maintes fois prouvé leur valeur sur les marchés tant nationaux qu’internationaux.

Dans une optique plus abordable, il demeure sur le marché local des artistes dont la cote reste enviable et qui sont tout de même à la portée de la plupart des collectionneurs.

L’un d’eux fait partie d’un groupe sélect qui peut se targuer d’avoir su développé un marché tant au Québec qu’en Europe et qui a même su faire une incursion sur les marchés asiatiques!

Né le 4 octobre 1953 à Bruxelles en Belgique, Roland Palmaerts est issu d’une famille de peintres avec qui il a fait son apprentissage initial.   Précoce, il remporte à 10 ans le Concours National Tintin.  Il parfait ensuite sa formation à l’Institut Saint-Luc et à l’Académie Royale des Beaux-Arts de Bruxelles.

Il entreprend son service militaire en 1972 en tant que para-commando.

En 1980, son esprit d’aventure le pousse à émigrer au Canada où il œuvre comme concepteur et illustrateur avant de se consacrer exclusivement à la peinture à compter de 1984.  Il consacre les deux décennies suivantes à la création mais aussi à l’enseignement de l’aquarelle tant au Québec qu’en Europe.  Très actifs dans le milieu de l’art, Roland Palmaerts est membre de la Société Canadienne d’Aquarelle (S.C.A.), de l’Institut Européen de l’Aquarelle (I.E.A.) et a été durant cinq ans président de l’Institut des arts figuratifs (I.A.F.).

Il retourne vivre en Belgique de façon permanente vers le milieu des années 2000 mais garde ses racines au Québec qu’il visite plusieurs fois par année.

En 2013, il se donne un défi au moment de célébrer son soixantième anniversaire de naissance.  En effet, il établit dans la ville papetière d’Arches en France en octobre 2013 un Record du Monde Guinness lors duquel il réalise en soixante heures de peinture NON STOP  – soit trois jours et deux nuits seulement, soixante mètres de tableaux peints à l’aquarelle!

Palmaerts est aujourd’hui connu tant comme artiste que pédagogue et ses différents ateliers tant en Europe qu’au Québec sont courus tant par des professionnels de la peinture que par d’enthousiastes amateurs.  À ce sujet, à l’automne 2018, il se confie à la presse Belge où il révèle être le professeur de peinture du Roi des Belges, Philippe, et ce depuis quelques années!

Du point de vue de la valeur marchande des œuvres de l’artiste, un survol des résultats d’enchères des dernières années démontre une excellente stabilité dans les ventes du marché secondaire de celui-ci.

Pour ce qui est du marché de détail, la demande pour le travail de cet artiste international est demeurée stable depuis plusieurs années et ses œuvres sont présentes dans plusieurs galeries d’art au Québec, en Europe et même, comme nous l’écrivions plus haut, en Asie!

Bon an, mal an, Roland Palmaerts demeure l’un des artistes les mieux vendus dans un marché difficile et en pleine mutation.

Bien que nul ne soit prophète dans le monde de l’art, il nous apparaît probable que cette tendance demeurera pour les années à venir.  Il est donc probable que, pour le moins, un tableau de Palmaerts gardera sa valeur et peut-être même saura profiter du temps qui passe!

S.M.Pearson,  Le Balcon d’Art

18713

Image 1 parmi 117