Le Balcon d’art will hold a 5 à 8 event featuring Serge Brunoni’s work on May 16th 2019 from 5:00 to 8:00pm (18 and older)

When Serge Brunoni arrived in Quebec, a career in the arts was the last of his concerns. Like most immigrants of his day, a new land meant new challenges, the unknown and a fresh start.

Of course, like many immigrants, this was not his first challenge.

Born in France just before the Second World War, his early childhood was obviously marked by the uncertainties and privations inherent to the occupation of his country. This did not prevent little Serge from discovering a passion and a talent for drawing that he practiced furiously throughout his childhood.

Like all the young French men of his time, Brunoni had to go through military service, a task he accomplished with pleasure seeing it as an adventure.

Following his service, he joined the Society of Works and Topographic Studies (S.A.T.E.T.), which worked on the construction of a railroad in Africa. He would spend three years living in the jungle, happy to indulge in his taste for adventure. To this day, he still regales everyone who would listen with anecdotes on the subject!

He arrived in Quebec in 1963 and, following the advice of local people, chose Trois-Rivières as his home port. In the years that followed, Brunoni worked in different jobs ranging from cook to encyclopedia salesman.

It is in 1969 that his wife offers him a box of colors and brushes and that he discovers what will become his passion; his reason for living. He became a professional painter from 1972.

Brunoni draws his influences from several sources. A scholar of art and philosophy, he uses his knowledge and his thirst for new ideas to reach creative summits that have been constantly renewed for fifty years now!

For the casual spectator, it may looks like the artist is sticking to some older artistic conventions and principles. That would be grossly misunderstanding the work of a painter for whom the poetry of his adopted country is constantly reborn in artistic explorations that owe as much to American impressionism as to expressionist painters such as Kandinsky or Alwar Cawén.

His vision of Quebec’s great outdoors may be reminiscent of René Richard, but the economy of means he is able to demonstrate brings him closer to Elaine de Kooning or even minimalist painters, taking a page from Ludwig Mies van der Rohe’s “less is more” philosophy… In fact, with Brunoni, the immediacy of the gesture betrays poetry while retaining the essential of a well thought out artistic approach. The apparent free form of Brunoni’s painting is firmly anchored in a cerebral understanding art into an apparently playful and almost automatic approach.

His interpretation of the city betrays the love / hate relationship he maintains with major cities. The busy tangle of actors in the moments he stages, the complex and sometimes almost anarchic compositions that populate the immense paintings he favors and the apparent casualness that transpires from Brunoni’s urban work bring the viewer to an almost claustrophobic pictorial universe that reveal the artist’s need for wide open spaces.

For those who have the pleasure and the honor of knowing Serge Brunoni, he is an inspiration and a source of questions ever renewed. Generous by nature, he never hesitates to share his latest discoveries, readings and reflections on literally ALL topics!

Unfortunately, a declining health and the fact that he has now reached the age of eighty have made this prolific artist slow down his artistic production. In 2019, however, he continues to amaze by the youth of his brushes and the vivacity of his soul.

History will surely tell us, but a retrospective view of Brunoni’s work easily suggests that he will be one of the few artists to have marked Quebec’s art history and his work will remain in the annals of art long after he is gone.

Steve Pearson

Le Balcon d’art vous propose un événement 5 à 8 mettant en vedette Serge Brunoni jeudi le 16 mai à compter de 17:00.

Quand Serge Brunoni est arrivé au Québec, une carrière en art était la dernière de ses préoccupations.  Comme la plupart des immigrants de son époque, une nouvelle terre signifiait de nouveaux défis, de l’inconnu et un tout nouveau départ.

Évidemment, comme bien des immigrants, Brunoni n’en n’était pas à son premier défi.

Né en France juste avant la Seconde Guerre Mondiale, sa petite enfance est évidemment marquée par les incertitudes et les privations inhérentes à l’occupation de son pays.  Cela n’empêche pas le petit Serge de se découvrir une passion et un talent pour le dessin qu’il pratique furieusement durant toute son enfance.

Comme tous les jeunes hommes français de son époque, Brunoni doit bientôt faire son service militaire qu’il accomplit avec plaisir et qu’il voit déjà comme une aventure.

Suite à son service, il se joint à la Société de travaux et d’études topographiques (S.A.T.E.T.), qui travaille à la construction d’un chemin de fer en Afrique.  Il passera trois années à vivre dans la jungle, heureux de satisfaire ses envies d’aventure.  À ce jour, il ne tarit d’anecdotes à ce sujet!

Il arrive au Québec en 1963 et, suite à des discussions avec des gens du pays, choisit Trois-Rivières comme port d’attache.  Au cours des années qui suivent, Brunoni s’affaire à différents emplois allant de cuisinier à vendeur d’encyclopédies.

C’est en 1969 que son épouse lui offre une boîte de couleurs et des pinceaux et qu’il découvre ce qui deviendra sa passion; sa raison de vivre.  Il devient peintre professionnel à compter de 1972.

Brunoni tire ses influences de plusieurs sources.  Érudit de l’art et de la philosophie, il met à profit ses connaissances et sa soif de nouvelles idées pour arriver à des sommets créatifs toujours renouvelés depuis maintenant cinquante ans!

Pour le spectateur un peu distrait, il peut apparaître lié à des traditions picturales une peu vieillottes voire éculées.  C’est mal comprendre l’œuvre d’un peintre pour qui la poésie de son pays d’adoption ne cesse de renaître en des explorations plastiques qui tiennent autant des impressionnistes américains que de l’expressionnisme de Kandinsky ou d’Alwar Cawén.

Sa vision des grands espaces québécois peut rappeler René Richard mais l’économie de moyens dont il sait faire preuve le rapproche tout autant d’une Elaine de Kooning ou même de certains peintres minimalistes, prenant exemple du « less is more » de Ludwig Mies van der Rohe.  En fait, chez Brunoni, immédiateté du geste trahit la poésie tout en conservant l’essentiel d’une approche plastique bien réfléchie.   La liberté apparente dans la peinture de Brunoni est fermement ancrée dans une compréhension toute cérébrale de l’art transformé en une approche apparemment ludique et presque automatique.

Son interprétation de la ville trahit le lien d’amour/haine qu’il entretien avec les grandes métropoles.  Le fourmillement affairé des acteurs des moments qu’il met en scène, les compositions complexes et parfois presque anarchiques qui peuplent les immenses tableaux qu’il affectionne particulièrement et l’apparente désinvolture qui transpire de l’œuvre urbaine de Brunoni amènent le spectateur au sein même d’une presque claustrophobie picturale qui montre bien le besoin de grands espaces de cet artiste avide de plein air et de paix.

Pour ceux qui ont le plaisir et l’honneur de connaître Serge Brunoni, il est une inspiration et une source de questions chaque fois renouvelée.  Généreux de nature, il n’hésite jamais à partager ses plus récentes découvertes, ses lectures et ses réflexions sur littéralement TOUS les sujets!

Malheureusement, une santé déclinante et le fait qu’il ait maintenant atteint les quatre-vingts ans font que ce prolifique artiste a du ralentir sa production artistique autrefois d’une impressionnante célérité.    En 2019, il continue toutefois d’étonner par la jeunesse de ses pinceaux et la vivacité de son esprit.

L’histoire nous le dira sûrement mais, une vue rétrospective de l’œuvre de Brunoni laisse facilement penser qu’il fera partie des rares artistes ayant marqué le Québec et que son travail restera dans les annales de l’art longtemps après son départ.

Steve Pearson