Even for the less informed viewer, a painting by Samir Sammoun always leaves more of an impression than a definite sense of the subject of the painting. Indeed, the artist knows how to use the light, the shadows and an economy of details which makes it so, whoever stops before one of the works of the painter feels the atmosphere of the scene even without knowing the geographical situation.

It is in this spirit of suggestion and interpretation that Samir Sammoun betrays his debt to one of the most influential artistic movements in the history of art, Impressionism.

Impressionism, it should be remembered, is a nineteenth-century artistic movement characterized by relatively small, thin but visible brushstrokes, an open composition, emphasis on the precise representation of light in its changing qualities. (often accentuating the effects of the passage of time), ordinary subjects, the inclusion of movement as a crucial element of human perception and experience, and unusual visual angles.

Impressionism originated in a group of Parisian artists whose independent exhibitions made famous in the 1870s and 1880s.

In the mid-nineteenth century – period of change, as the Emperor Napoleon III rebuilt Paris and went to war – the Academy of Fine Arts dominated French art. The Academy jealously guarded the standards of content and style of traditional French painting. Historical subjects, religious themes and portraits were valued; landscape and still life were not. The Academy preferred carefully finished images that seemed realistic when examined closely. The paintings of this style were composed of precise brushstrokes carefully mixed to hide the hand of the artist in the work. The color, meanwhile, was seen as less interesting and used discreetly and even often mitigated by the application of a golden varnish.

Odalisque (1874), Jules Joseph Lefebvre. Lefebvre frequently exhibited his works at the Paris Salon, and is a good example of 19th century Academic art.

In the early 1860s, four young painters – Claude Monet, Pierre-Auguste Renoir, Alfred Sisley and Frederic Bazille met while studying under the artist Charles Gleyre. They soon discovered a common taste for landscape and ordinary subjects as well as for painting on the motif where, the presence of natural light, came to bring a liveliness and a light not widespread in the paintings of the time.

At the time, the main place where artists could present their work was the annual Salon which had been held since the end of the 17th century. The jury of the Salon was composed of members of the academic elite who, of course, almost systematically refused all the paintings of the young group which, by then, also included Camille Pissarro, Paul Cézanne and Armand Guillaumin who gathered around Édouard Manet, one of the precursors of the movement.

After the Emperor Napoleon III saw the rejected works of 1863, he decreed that the public be allowed to judge the work itself, and the Salon des Refusés was organized. At first subject to ridicule on the part of critics and the public, the Salon des Refusés soon showed what was, in essence, a new artistic movement.

Subsequently, the new artists formed the Cooperative Anonyme of Artists Painters, Sculptors, Engravers who held their first exhibition in 1874 and which included the painting “Impression, Soleil Levant” by Claude Monet. This painting inspired the critic Louis Leroy who reviewed it in a sarcastic article published in the Charivari, “the Exhibition of Impressionists”, creating the neologism that would become the name of the movement.

Impression soleil levant by Claude Monet,1873

Today, Impressionism has, of course, is well acclaimed and no one would think to ridicule this movement that was at the origin of all the artistic innovations of the twentieth century, both pictorial, musical and literary.

Samir Sammoun, like many current artists, draws his inspiration from the work of the giants of Impressionism to arrive at an interpretation of nature and the works of man that owes as much to the past as to a present always in motion.

Même pour le spectateur moins averti, un tableau de Samir Sammoun laisse toujours plus une impression qu’un sens défini du sujet du tableau.  En effet, l’artiste sait utiliser la lumière, les ombres et une économie de détails qui font que, quiconque s’arrête devant l’une des œuvres du peintre ressent l’atmosphère même de la scène croquée sans même en connaitre la situation géographique.

C’est dans cet esprit de suggestion et d’interprétation que Samir Sammoun trahi la dette qu’il entretient envers l’un des mouvements artistiques les plus influents de l’histoire de l’art, l’impressionnisme.

L’Impressionnisme, doit-on le rappeler, est un mouvement artistique du XIXe siècle caractérisé par des coups de pinceau relativement petits, minces, mais visibles, une composition ouverte, l’accent mis sur la représentation précise de la lumière dans ses qualités changeantes (accentuant souvent les effets du passage du temps), des sujets ordinaires, l’inclusion du mouvement en tant qu’élément crucial de la perception et de l’expérience humaines et d’angles visuels inhabituels.

L’Impressionnisme trouve son origine dans un groupe d’artistes parisiens dont les expositions indépendantes les ont fait connaître au cours des années 1870 et 1880.  

Au milieu du XIXe siècle – période de changement, alors que l’empereur Napoléon III reconstruit Paris et fait la guerre -, l’Académie des Beaux-Arts domine l’art français. L’Académie gardait jalousement la mainmise sur les normes de contenu et de style de la peinture française traditionnelle. Les sujets historiques, les thèmes religieux et les portraits étaient valorisés; paysage et nature morte ne l’étaient pas. L’Académie a préféré des images soigneusement finies qui semblaient réalistes lorsqu’on les examinait de près. Les peintures de ce style étaient composées de coups de pinceau précis soigneusement mélangés pour cacher la main de l’artiste dans l’œuvre. La couleur, quant à elle, était vue comme moins intéressante et utilisée de façon discrète et même souvent atténuée par l’application d’un vernis doré.

Odalisque (1874), Jules Joseph Lefebvre. Lefebvre a souvent exposé au Salon de Paris et son travail est représentatif de l’art académique du 19e siècle.

Au début des années 1860, quatre jeune peintres – Claude Monet, Pierre-Auguste Renoir, Alfred Sisley et Frédéric Bazille se rencontre alors qu’ils étudient sous l’artiste Charles Gleyre.  Ils se découvrent bientôt un goût commun pour le paysage et les sujets ordinaires ainsi que pour la peinture sur le motif où, la présence de lumière naturelle, venait apporter une vivacité et une lumière peu répandue dans les tableaux de l’époque.

À l’époque, le principal endroit où les artistes pouvaient présenter leur travail était le Salon annuel qui se tenait depuis la fin du XVIIe siècle.  Le jury du Salon était composé de membres de l’élite académique qui, bien entendu, refusait presque systématiquement tous les tableaux du jeune groupe qui maintenant comportait aussi Camille Pissarro, Paul Cézanne et Armand Guillaumin réunis autour d’Édouard Manet, l’un des précurseurs du mouvement.

Après que l’Empereur Napoléon III eut vu les œuvres rejetées de 1863, il décréta que le public soit autorisé à juger l’œuvre elle-même, et le Salon des Refusés fut organisé.  D’abord sujet de moqueries de la part des critiques et du public, le Salon des Refusés permit bientôt d’exposer ce qui était, en essence, un nouveau mouvement artistique.

Par la suite, les nouveaux artistes formèrent la Société Anonyme Coopérative des Artistes Peintres, Sculpteurs, Graveurs qui tint sa première exposition en 1874 et qui comprenait le tableau « Impression, soleil levant » de Claude Monet.  Ce tableau inspira le critique Louis Leroy qui en fit la revue dans un article sarcastique paru dans le Charivari, « l’Exposition des Impressionnistes », créant le néologisme qui allait devenir le nom du mouvement.

Impression soleil levant par Claude Monet,1873

Aujourd’hui, l’impressionnisme a, bien entendu, gagné toutes ses lettres de noblesse et il ne viendrait à personne l’idée de ridiculiser ce mouvement qui fût à l’origine de toutes les innovations artistiques du XXe siècle, tant picturales que musicales et littéraires.

Samir Sammoun, comme bien des artistes actuels, puise son inspiration de l’œuvre des géants de l’impressionnisme pour arriver à une interprétation de la nature et des œuvres de l’homme qui doit autant au passé qu’à un présent toujours en mouvement.