RICHARD, René

Available Works


Sold Works

AVAILABLE BOOKS

richardr


 

 

Biography

richard_r

Painting, when one really embraces it, can become an adventure where surprises await behind every stroke of the brush, on every new canvas and with every color that springs from the tube onto the palette.

Adventure, real adventure, can lead to painting. Members of the Group of Seven often went on excursions, Tom Thomson was a seasoned outdoorsman and Paul Tex Lecor often considered himself more of a woodsman than an artist!

A Quebec artist certainly surpasses most of nature loving artists, introducing the great René Richard!

Born on December 1, 1895 in La Chaux-de-Fonds, Switzerland, René Richard and his family settled in Canada in 1909.

At the age of 18, he became a trapper and “coureur des bois” in northern Alberta documenting his trek in hundreds of drawings.

However, he soon returned to Europe, where he met Clarence Gagnon in 1927.

This meeting awoke in the artist the prospect of a return to Quebec where he knew he could devote himself to his art and his passion for the great outdoors. He returned to Quebec in 1937 and, in 1942, moved to Baie St-Paul. He is, incidentally, at least partially responsible for the reputation of Charlevoix as a Mecca of art in Quebec as Barbizon in France or Tuscany in Italy are!

He quickly became a mainstay of art in Quebec, exhibiting at the Galerie l’Art Français – now Galerie Valentin – the eldest of Montreal galleries where he achieved great success.

In 1952, his trapper’s and “coureur des bois”’s instincts caught up with him and he travelled to Canada’s Far North where he accumulated the subjects and inspiration that would inspire throughout his career.

Starting in the 1950s, artists are more and more oriented towards non-figurative experiments and towards a more intimate art than that of this artist who draws inspiration from the great outdoors. Remarkably, he is still greatly admired and respected for his technique, his expressionist approach and the economy of means that he demonstrates.

Richard is known for his speed and the immediacy that comes from the paintings he makes most of the time on reused wood panels because, for this intense artist, the creative process is more important than the results!  It is even said, by certain people who have known him well, that he has destroyed more paintings than he has shown!

In 1967, he had his first official recognition, when the “Musée du Québec” (now the National Museum of Fine Arts of Quebec) devoted a solo exhibition to him. The same museum would hold a major retrospective of his work in 1977.

He was elected for life by the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts and received the Order of Canada in 1973. Canada Post also issued a stamp depicting the Northwest Territories as shown in one of its paintings.

His adopted homeland, Charlevoix, also celebrates Richard’s life and work. The municipal library, inaugurated in 1998, bears his name. The house, he acquired in 1942, is now an art gallery and the artist’s studio can be visited.  A commemorative plaque was unveiled in 1982.

An influential and respected artist, Gabrielle Roy’s novel “The Secret Mountain” (1961) tells the story of Pierre Cadorai, an explorer and painter from Canada’s Far North. The character was inspired by the life and work of René Richard.

Active until the end, Richard was a friend and a mentor for several artists like Louis Tremblay and others who are proud to count themselves as the heirs of the old master.

René Richard died in 1982 at the age of 86.

RICHARD, René

Oeuvres disponibles


Oeuvres vendues

Livres disponibles

richardr


 

 

Biographie

richard_r

La peinture, quand on l’embrasse vraiment, peut-devenir une aventure ou les surprises nous attendent derrière chaque coup de pinceau, sur chaque nouvelle toile et avec chaque couleur qui jaillit du tube vers la palette.

L’aventure, la grande, peut, quant à elle, mener vers la peinture.  Les membres du Groupe de Sept partaient souvent en excursions, Tom Thomson était un amateur de plein-air aguerri et Paul Tex Lecor se considérait souvent plus comme un homme des bois qu’un artiste!

Un artiste québécois surpasse assurément la plupart de ses artistes/coureurs de bois, j’ai nommé René Richard!

Né le 1er décembre 1895 à La Chaux-de-Fonds, en Suisse, René Richard et sa famille s’installent au Canada en 1909.

A l’âge de 18 ans, il devient trappeur et coureur des bois dans le nord de l’Alberta. Il reporte ses randonnées dans des centaines de dessins.

Il retourne toutefois bientôt en Europe où il rencontre, un peu par hasard, Clarence Gagnon en 1927.  Cette rencontre fera germer dans la tête de l’artiste la perspective d’un retour au Québec où il sait qu’il pourra se consacrer à son art et à sa passion pour les grands espaces.  Il revient au Québec en 1937 et, en 1942, s’installe à Baie St-Paul.  Il est d’ailleurs, au moins partiellement, responsable de la réputation de Charlevoix comme Mecque de l’art au Québec comme Barbizon en France ou la Toscane en Italie!

Rapidement il devient un pilier de l’art au Québec exposant à la Galerie l’Art Français –devenue aujourd’hui la Galerie Valentin – la doyenne des galeries montréalaises où il obtient de grands succès.

En 1952, l’instinct du trappeur et du coureur des bois le rattrape et il part vers le Grand Nord canadien où il accumulera les sujets et l’inspiration qui le feront continuer tout au long de sa carrière.

À compter des années 1950, la tendance artistique est plutôt tournée vers les expérimentations non-figuratives et vers un art plus intimiste que celui de cet artiste qui tire son inspiration des grands espaces.  Remarquablement, il reste tout de même grandement admiré et respecté de par sa technique, par son approche expressionniste et à l’économie de moyens dont il sait faire preuve.

Richard est reconnu pour sa rapidité et pour l’immédiacité qui se dégage des tableaux qu’il réalise la plupart du temps sur des panneaux de bois maintes fois réutilisés puisque, pour cet artiste intense, le processus de création est plus important que le résultat!  On dit même, chez certaines personnes l’ayant bien connu, qu’il a détruit plus de tableaux qu’il n’en n’a montrés!

En 1967, il connaît une première consécration officielle alors que le Musée du Québec (devenu le Musée national des Beaux-Arts du Québec) lui consacre une exposition solo.  Le même Musée en remettra en 1977 lui consacrant une grande rétrospective.

Il sera élu à vie par  l’Académie royale des arts du Canada puis recevra l’Ordre du Canada en 1973.  Postes Canada publiera aussi un timbre représentant les Territoires du Nord-Ouest tels que représenté dans l’un de ses tableaux.

Sa patrie d’adoption, Charlevoix, célèbrera aussi la vie et l’œuvre de Richard. La bibliothèque municipale, inaugurée en 1998, porte son nom.  La maison, acquise par René Richard en 1942, est aujourd’hui une galerie d’art et on peut y visiter l’atelier de l’artiste et une plaque commémorative a été dévoilée en 1982.

Artiste influent et respecté, Le roman « La montagne secrète » de Gabrielle Roy (1961) raconte l’histoire de Pierre Cadorai, un peintre explorateur du Grand Nord canadien. Le personnage a été inspiré de la vie et l’œuvre de René Richard.

Actif jusqu’au bout, Richard sera un ami et un mentor pour plusieurs artistes comme Louis Tremblay et autres qui sont fier de se compter comme les héritiers du vieux maître.

René Richard décède en 1982 à l’âge de 86 ans.