banniere_1090x375

All through the month of May, every person visiting the gallery will receive a $50.00 gift certificate applicable towards a framing project

Valid from May 1st to 31st 2017 (exclusively on framing)

OUR GREAT FRAMING COMPETITION!

All custom-made frames created within the competition will be photographed for the contest and will appear on our website as well as on Facebook. (Contest June 16th to 25th, winner will be announced June 26th )

The winner (who will have collected the most “Likes”) will receive a gift certificate for the value of the framing as issued during the contest.(Maximum 1000$ value applicable until November 1st 2017)

Offer non-cumulative, non-exchangeable, no monetary value


Le Balcon d’art invites you to discover the world of custom framing. Come meet our design and conservation specialists to frame your artworks, photos, diplomas, medals, sport memorabilia, vacation, concert or family memorabilia…

Members of the PPFA (Professional Picture Framers Association) the team at Le Balcon d’art are proud of the numerous specialized training accomplished in mounting, design, innovation and conservation at the WCAF expo & National Conference


04

 TAKE A LOOK AT OUR “FRAMEBOOK” FOR A GLIMPSE AT THE DIFFERENT FRAMING OPTIONS WE CAN OFFER YOU!

How to Get a Picture Framed

No matter how you have acquired it, your artwork is of value; sentimental, historical, or monetary, and deserves a customized frame to show off its beauty and prevent deterioration over time. A skilled framer is your partner in this process. Quality framers have years of experience with preservation framing using a variety of materials and methods, and should be able to work within any budget.

Terms and Descriptions

Mat

Provides a spacer to protect paper art or photographs from direct contact with the glass. This is necessary, particularly in humid climates, to prevent the art from coming in contact with condensation or sticking to the glass and permanently damaging it. It also provides structural support for the artwork. Ask the framer if the picture warrants double or triple matting with a straight or bevel cut. Also ask about archival quality matting for pieces you really care about.

Mounting

Artwork can be hinged or adhered. Hinging is the process of using acid free linen tape at the top of the mat and letting it hang. A more permanent method is to mount the entire artwork to the backing board, achieving a smooth, flat finish using various methods to adhere the artwork, not recommended for artwork of any value.

Backing

As with mats the wrong backing can damage your work. Insist that your framer use a lightweight neural-pH backing. Barrier paper can be added to this as an extra precaution for works of higher value. Your artwork should then be sealed to protect it from dust, air, moisture and insects.

Glass

Conservation quality picture framing glass is specially formulated to protect framed works of art from the damaging effects of ultraviolet light. If you think reflection may be a problem choose museum glass that has very little reflection and still offers the protection from ultraviolet light.

Frame

The frame you choose should be strong enough to support the final weight of the glass, mounting and artwork. Your custom framer has the knowledge and ability to select the proper frame style for your particular project.

SPECIAL PROJECTS

02 03 01

Le balcon d'art

Le Balcon d’art vous invite à découvrir le monde de l’encadrement personnalisé. Venez rencontrer nos spécialistes du design et de la conservation pour encadrer vos oeuvres d’art, photos, diplômes, médailles, souvenirs sportifs, de vacances, de concerts ou vos souvenirs familiaux …

Membres de la PPFA (Professional Picture Framers Association), l’équipe du Balcon d’art est fière de la formation spécialisée accomplie dans le montage, la conception, l’innovation et la conservation à l’exposition de la WCAF et à la National Conference plus tôt cette année, à Las Vegas.


04


CONSULTER NOTRE CATALOGUE « FRAMEBOOK » POUR DES EXEMPLES ET DES IDÉES D’ENCADREMENTS!

Comment encadrer une œuvre.

Peu importe comment vous l’avez acquise, votre œuvre est de valeur ; sentimental, historique, ou monétaire, et mérite un encadrement adapté aux besoins du client afin montrer sa beauté et empêcher sa détérioration au fil du temps. Un encadreur qualifié vous aide dans ce processus. Les encadreurs de qualité ont des années d’expérience avec l’encadrement de conservation, ils utilisent un vaste choix de matériaux et de méthodes, et devraient pouvoir travailler avec n’importe quel budget.

Termes et descriptions

Passe-partout

Sert d’entretoise pour protéger l’art sur papier ou les photographies contre le contact direct avec le verre. Il est particulièrement nécessaire dans les climats humides, pour empêcher que l’art ne colle au verre ou ne vienne en contact avec de la condensation et les dommages permanents. Il fournit également un support structural à l’œuvre. Demandez à l’encadreur si l’œuvre justifie des doubles ou triples passe-partout avec une coupe droite ou biseautée. Demandez également des passe-partout   de qualité archive pour les pièces que vous tenez à cœur.

Montage

Une œuvre peut être montée avec charnière ou encollée. Une charnière est le processus d’utiliser un ruban adhésif de toile de lin sans acide dans le haut du passe-partout et de la laisser accrocher. Une autre méthode plus permanente, est d’encoller par diverses méthodes l’illustration entière au panneau de support, réalisant ainsi une finition lisse et plate, non recommandée pour œuvres de valeur.

Support

Tout comme le passe-partout, le mauvais support peut endommager votre œuvre. Insistez a ce que votre encadreur utilise un support léger a PH-neutre. Le papier barrière peut être ajouté à celui-ci comme précaution supplémentaire pour des travaux d’une valeur plus élevée. Votre illustration devrait alors être scellée pour la protéger contre la poussière, l’air, l’humidité et les insectes.

Verre

Le verre de qualité conservation est particulièrement formulé pour protéger les œuvres d’art contre les effets néfastes des ultraviolets. Si le reflet vous cause un problème choisissez le verre musée qui a très peu de réflexion et offre toujours la protection contre les ultraviolets.

Encadrement

L’encadrement que vous choisissez doit être assez robuste pour soutenir le poids final du verre, le montage et l’œuvre. Votre encadreur a la connaissance et la compétence de sélectionner le type d’encadrement approprié pour votre projet.

PROJETS SPÉCIAUX

03 02 01