MARC-AURÈLE FORTIN 1888-1970

June 5, 2019 on News by steve

“All artists are influenced by others for the technique, the craft. But the true artist retains his ivory tower, which is impenetrable. The ivory tower is the domain of inspiration, it is there that the artist will seek his ideas on art. “

(Marc-Aurèle Fortin, 1969)

If there is something akin to royalty in the art world of Quebec, one painter stands out among the few historically significant artists of our country, namely, Marc-Aurèle Fortin.

Indeed, as the Impressionists marked the art of the late nineteenth century in Europe and Picasso, Braque and Matisse marked the first part of the twentieth, Quebec owes a major artistic debt to this incredible artist. His influence has touched the work of most Quebec artists, from the 1930s to today.

His pictorial approach left an indelible mark both for the non-figurative painters who would revolutionize our art and culture in the middle of the last century as for the figurative painters who are still trying to translate the visual reality of Quebec. His artistic courage allowed painting to be seen as more than a mere means of representing reality, and the very poetry of his soul granted an inestimable license to anyone who could see beyond their own eyes.

Born in Sainte-Rose in the northern part of Île Jésus (now Laval) in 1888, the prolific Marc-Aurèle Fortin was a painter, watercolourist, engraver and draftsman, and his highly decorative and colorful landscapes highlight the picturesque aspects of nature.

His work is easily recognizable by his favorite subjects: leafy elm trees, rustic houses, hay carts and the Port of Montreal. With little regard for human representation, his subjects always seem subordinate to nature.

From the early part of the twentieth century, Fortin studied with two of Quebec’s leading artists, Ludger Larose and Edmond Dyonnet, but soon went to the Art Institute of Chicago to perfect his art. Upon his return in 1912, Fortin worked to develop a landscape style that stood out from what was done elsewhere. Beginning in 1918, he became interested in watercolor and, soon, the “holed” trees that are, for many, emblematic of his work, appear. Unhappy with his watercolor technique, he returned to oil and, as of the late 1920s, he was found exhibiting in the United States and South Africa. A few years later, he exhibited in France and Italy where he perfected his art until 1935.

He returns to Quebec that year and his work is totally transformed. From a somewhat sentimental painter, he becomes much more cerebral and then begins the pure plastic exploration for which he is now recognized.

It is from the mid-1930s that he develops what he calls “the dark manner” which consists essentially of the application of pure colors on black backgrounds so as to “intensify the relationship between the shadow and the light» as he says himself. He also uses gray backgrounds “to describe the warm atmosphere of Quebec skies”. This unorthodox approach will have an influence on the work of many artists who would revolutionize art fifteen years later.

Fortin returns to watercolor in the late 1930s accentuating the evanescent shades of this medium with black pencil lines. At the same time, he also began to print, which would become for a time, one of his favorite mediums. He exhibited permanently, from 1940, at the gallery French Art – today the Galerie Valentin – in Montreal.

At the beginning of the 1950s, he turned to casein – a milk-based tempera – with which he painted powerful works, attaining perfection as never before achieved by the artist.

Diabetes interrupted the career of the artist from 1955 and a large number of paintings entrusted to his manager would be destroyed without ceremony.

Four years later, he takes again to his brushes but with fairly uninteresting results. He would scribble pencil sketches until 1966, when he completely lost his sight. A friend, René Buisson, installed him in a sanatorium in Macamic in Abitibi, where he died on March 2, 1970, blind and amputated of both legs.

Today, the work of Fortin holds a place more than enviable in the history of art in Quebec and, ultimate consecration, since May 2007, one can admire an important collection of the works of Marc-Aurèle Fortin at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. The Marc-Aurèle Fortin Foundation has donated all of its collection, some one hundred works, to this institution.

An extremely prolific painter, he leaves, according to several historians, a work of nearly 10,000 paintings, prints and drawings found in prestigious and important collections around the world.

Steve Pearson

LEARN MORE ABOUT THE ARTIST


AVAILABLE WORKS

MARC-AURÈLE FORTIN 1888-1970

juin 5, 2019 on Nouvelles by steve

« Tous les artistes subissent l´influence des autres pour la technique, le métier. Mais le véritable artiste conserve sa tour d´ivoire, qui est impénétrable. La tour d´ivoire, c´est le domaine de l´inspiration, c´est là que l´artiste va chercher ses idées sur l´art. »

(Marc-Aurèle Fortin, 1969)

S’il existe quelque chose tenant de la royauté dans le monde de l’art au Québec, un peintre se démarque particulièrement du lot parmi les quelques artistes historiquement marquants de notre pays, j’ai nommé Marc-Aurèle Fortin.

En effet, si les Impressionnistes ont marqué l’art de la fin du dix-neuvième siècle en Europe et que les Picasso, Braque et Matisse en ont marqué la première partie du vingtième, le Québec a une dette artistique majeure envers cet artiste hors du commun.  Son influence a touché le travail de la plupart des artistes d’ici et ce, des années 30 à aujourd’hui.

Son approche picturale a laissé une marque indélébile tant pour les peintres non-figuratifs qui ont révolutionné notre art et notre culture au milieu du siècle dernier que chez les peintres figuratifs qui, encore aujourd’hui, tentent de traduire la réalité visuelle du Québec.  Son courage artistique a permis de voir la peinture comme plus qu’un simple moyen de représenter la réalité et la poésie même de son âme a accordé une licence inestimable à tous ceux capable de voir plus loin que leurs yeux.

Né à Sainte-Rose dans la partie nord de l’Île Jésus (maintenant Laval) en 1888, le prolifique Marc-Aurèle Fortin a été peintre, aquarelliste, graveur et dessinateur et ses paysages très décoratifs et colorés mettent en valeur l´aspect pittoresque de la nature.

On reconnaît facilement son œuvre par ses sujets de prédilection : ormes feuillus,  maisons rustiques, charrettes de foin et le port de Montréal.  Peu porté sur la représentation humaine, ses sujets semblent toujours subalternes à la nature.

Dès le début du vingtième siècle, Fortin étudie avec deux des principaux artistes québécois de l’époque, Ludger Larose et Edmond Dyonnet, mais se rend bientôt à l’Institut d’art de Chicago pour parfaire son art.  Dès son retour, en 1912, Fortin s’affaire à développer un style paysagiste qui se démarque déjà de ce qui se fait ailleurs.  À compter de 1918, il s’intéresse à l’aquarelle et, bientôt, les arbres « troués » qui sont, pour plusieurs, emblématiques de son œuvre, apparaissent.  Peu satisfait de sa technique d’aquarelle, il revient vers l’huile et, dès la fin des années 1920, on le retrouve exposant aux États-Unis et en Afrique du Sud.  Quelques années plus tard, il expose en France et en Italie où il parfait son art jusqu’en 1935.

Il revient au pays cette année-là et son œuvre  est totalement transformé.  De peintre un peu sentimental, il devient beaucoup plus cérébral et débute alors l’exploration plastique pure pour laquelle il est maintenant reconnu.

C’est à compter de la moitié des années 1930 qu’il développe ce qu’il appellera « la manière noire » qui consiste  essentiellement à l’application de couleurs pures sur des fonds noirs de façon à  « intensifier la relation entre l’ombre et la lumière », comme il le dit lui-même.  Il utilise aussi des fonds gris « pour décrire l’atmosphère chaude des ciels du Québec ».  Cette approche peu orthodoxe aura une influence dans la façon de travailler de moult artistes qui viendront révolutionner l’art une quinzaine d’années plus tard.

Fortin revient à l’aquarelle vers la fin des années 30 accentuant les tons délavés de ce médium de traits de crayon noir.  Il se met aussi, à la même époque, à l’estampe qui deviendra pour un temps, l’un de ses médiums de prédilection.  Il expose en permanence,  à compter de 1940, à la galerie l’Art Français – aujourd’hui la Galerie Valentin – à Montréal.

Le début des années 50 le voit se tourner vers la caséine – une détrempe à base de lait – avec laquelle il brosse des tableaux d’une puissance et d’une perfection jamais atteinte par l’artiste auparavant.

Le diabète interrompt la carrière de l’artiste à compter de 1955 et un nombre important de tableaux confiés à son gérant seront détruits sans cérémonie.

Quatre ans plus tard, il reprend ses pinceaux mais avec des résultats peu intéressants.  Il griffonnera des paysages au crayon feutres jusqu’en 1966 moment où il perd entièrement la vue.  Un ami, René Buisson, l’installe au sanatorium de Macamic en Abitibi, où il s’éteint le 2 mars 1970, aveugle et amputé des deux jambes.

Aujourd’hui, l’œuvre de Fortin tient une place plus qu’enviable dans l’histoire de l’art de chez-nous et, consécration ultime, depuis mai 2007, on peut admirer une importante collection des œuvres de Marc-Aurèle Fortin au Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal. La Fondation Marc-Aurèle Fortin ayant remis l’ensemble de sa collection, une centaine d’œuvres, à cette institution.

Peintre extrêmement prolifique, il laisse, selon plusieurs historiens, une œuvre comptant près de 10 000 tableaux, estampes et dessins qui se retrouvent dans des collections prestigieuses et importantes, un peu partout dans le monde.

Steve Pearson

POUR EN SAVOIR PLUS SUR L’ARTISTE


OEUVRES DISPONIBLES