LECOR, Paul “Tex”

Tex Lecor

Available Works


Sold Works


Available Books

lecor


Biography

lecort

Paul Tex Lecor is a painter from Quebec born in St.Michel de Wentworth on June 10 1933.

As a young boy in the Laurentians region, he would regale his friends and family with illustrations to which he would add stories to the delight of all.

In 1951, three years after Refus Global, Lecor starts his studies at the École des Beaux-arts de Montréal where he would profit from the teachings of the likes of Jacques de Tonnancour and Stanley Cosgrove.

By the end of the 1950s, Tex Lecor is a consummate artist but also a born showman who quickly becomes a household name all over Quebec, both as a singer and a humorist.  This is also the era where Lecor meets the great Quebecois oil painter Léo Ayotte who will become both a friend an a mentor to the young Tex Lecor.

Throughout the 1960s and 1970s, Paul Tex Lecor’s popularity both on television and radio is on an upward trajectory but, by the early 1980s, Lecor makes the bold decision to put aside his musical career and concentrates fully on becoming one of the major oil and acrylic painters in Canada.

Today, Paul Tex Lecor is one of the best known and highest rated Canadian and Quebec artists present in major galleries and important collections all over the world.  With his depictions of the Quebec wilderness, countryside, tavern scenes and camaraderie, Tex is one of the crown jewels of Quebec and Canadian art and culture.

Other available paintings by Paul Tex Lecor

Paul Tex Lecor in the media

Available lithographs by Paul Tex Lecor

Le balcon d'art

LECOR, Paul « Tex »

lecorpt

Oeuvres disponibles


Oeuvres vendues

Livres disponibles

lecor


Biographie

lecort

Paul Tex Lecor est un artiste-peintre québécois né à Saint-Michel de Wentworth le 10 juin 1933.

Dèjà, dans sa jeunesse au coeur des Laurentides, il régale ses amis et sa famille avec des dessins qu’il accompagne d’histoires au plaisir de tous.

En 1951, trois ans après la publication du Refus Global, Lecor débute ses études à l’École des Beaux arts de Montréal où il profitera des leçons de professeurs tels que Jacques de Tonnancour et Stanley Cosgrove.

Vers la fin des années 1950, Tex Lecor est un artiste accompli mais aussi un homme de spectacle qui devient rapidement une vedette partout au Québec, tant comme chanteur qu’humoriste.  C’est aussi à cette époque qu’il fait la connaissance du grand peintre Léo Ayotte qui deviendra son ami et son mentor.

Tout au cours des années 60 et 70, la popularité de Paul Tex Lecor monte en flèche mais, avec l’arrivée des années 80, il prend la décison d’interrompre sa carrière musicale et de se concentrer à bâtir sa réputation d’artiste-peintre, tout aussi à l’aise à l’acrylique qu’à la peinture à l’huile.

Aujourd’hui, Paul Tex Lecor est l’un des peintres québécois et canadiens les mieux cotés.  Ses scènes de la forêt et de la campagne, tout autant que ses chroniques visuelles des tavernes et de la camarderie sont présentes dans les plus grandes galeries d’art et au sein de collections importantes partout dans le monde.  Tex fait maintenant partie du patrimoine de l’art et de la culture au Québec.

Autres oeuvres disponibles par Paul Tex Lecor

Paul Tex Lecor dans les médias

Lithographies disponibles par Paul Tex Lecor

 

 

Le balcon d'art