EASTER, ICONS AND ANCA PATRU

April 18, 2019 on News by steve

Art, from time immemorial, has always been used by man to transcend his physical nature and express a vision of timelessness, metaphysics and, of course, the sacred. Just looking at the art history one can see that, through the ages, artists – from the most primal to the most sublime – have used art to express their beliefs, their god and the images relating to it.

Beyond this desire to “show God” is the icon.  An icon, (from the Greek εικόνα eikona) “image”, is a representation of holy characters in the Christian tradition. Much more than a simple graphic representation, an icon has a profound theological meaning that distinguishes it from pious images.  Indeed, in the tradition of the Eastern Christian Churches, the icon is object of veneration which has its own energy.  It revives faith, protects the household; it favors the peace of the home, removes the enemy from the city.

The icon is completely integrated in Orthodox catechesis but also in that of the Eastern Catholic Churches which have preserved the tradition of the icon as well as in parts of the Western Catholic Church and in non-Chalcedonian churches. By becoming objects of veneration for the faithful, the icons were submitted, as early as the thirteenth century, by the Churches of the Pentarchy, to severe artistic constraints (stereotypical sources of inspiration, rigor of the line, games of colors). Until today, these canons have been perpetuated, ensuring the astonishing continuity of these paintings dedicated to the glory of God.

From the end of the Roman Empire and the rise of the Byzantine Empire, the cultural split between traditional Roman iconography and the more stylized approach of Eastern artists becomes striking in the representation of religious themes. Much more abstract and two-dimensional, the eastern vision uses very little modeling suggesting more essence than body; silhouettes slightly stretched, eyes larger than life – “windows of the soul”- , noses and narrow mouths. The dominated and immovable body expresses the universal, peace, eternity. Space, outside the terrestrial dimension, is represented by a solid color of gold, divine energy and light, or a blue dotted with stars.

This new plastic approach comes in parallel with the separation of the churches of Rome and Byzantium. The ideological and dogmatic quarrel that will come to create the Orthodox Church and the graphic representations inherent to each of the Christian factions will be radically redefined within the pictorial work proper to each facet of an altogether identical faith. Icons painted in mosaic, stone, enamel and metal, the art of the icon spread throughout the sphere of Byzantine influence, but far beyond, as evidenced by the Ethiopian production. Russia became one of the major centers of production, with the schools of Novgorod, Moscow and the famous one of Andrei Rublev, presenting a religious sensibility, a construction of pictorial space and new symbolic fields.

THE THEMES

The themes of the icon are varied.

The icons are classified, in general, as follows:

  • Characters: Mary, Christ, apostles, martyrs, saints, angels…
  • Feasts commemorating episodes from the life of Christ (Nativity, Resurrection …), Mary (Entrance to the Temple, Annunciation …), the history of the Church (exaltation of the Cross, Councils of Nicaea …)
  • The historiated representations: scenes from the Old Testament, the miracles of Jesus, the lives of saints…
  • Theological representations: the path of the monk, the Last Judgment…
  • Calendar icons called Menaions or Menologes.

For the same saint, representations are also classified by themes. Thus, the Virgin is usually represented with Christ the child in her arms. However, we speak of “Virgin of Tenderness” if the cheek of mother and Christ are joined, of “Virgin who shows the Way” (Odigitria) if the mother designates Christ, of “Virgin of Kazan” if Christ seems to be standing beside her mother, the “Virgin of the sign” if the mother is praying (icon) (her hands raised as a sign of prayer), Christ appearing as a medallion “in her” (this last representation refers to the text of the prophet Isaiah: “The Lord Himself will give you a sign: behold, the virgin will be pregnant, she will give birth to a son whom she will call Emmanuel …” Es. 7.14). Each of these representations follows precise rules, the freedom of the iconographer being marked out to avoid departing from the teaching of the Church.

THE USE OF ICONS IN THE MODERN CONTEXT

In the orthodox confession, it is as important to worship the icon as to listen to the word or read the writings. Currently, Christians of Catholic faith are increasingly using the icon in the liturgy, without giving it the same richness as in the use of orthodox Christians. Today, this word sees its expanded meaning to refer to the sacred characters of any religion.

ANCA PATRU IN THE TRADITION OF ICONS

Anca Patru is a Quebec artist of Romanian origin who, for several years, has devoted her considerable talent to introduce this artistic approach not as widespread in the West.

A seasoned painter, she brings mastery of painting to an almost mystical vision of art.

The aura of mysticism and spirituality emanating from the small icons she creates can easily compete with the work of icon masters working in Eastern Europe and other countries in the Orthodox world.

Le Balcon d’art has long ago made a conscious effort to promote the work of this extraordinary artist and is proud to present an important collection of iconographic works produced by Anca.

At Easter time, why not come and admire this deeply personal work imbued with reflection and profound peace.

PÂQUES, ICONES ET ANCA PATRU

avril 18, 2019 on Nouvelles by steve

L’art, depuis des temps immémoriaux, a toujours été utilisé par l’homme de façon à transcender sa nature physique et à exprimer une vision de l’intemporel, de la métaphysique et, bien entendu du sacré.  Il suffit de s’intéresser à l’Histoire de l’art pour constater qu’à travers les âges les artistes – du plus primaire au plus sublime – ont utilisé l’art pour parler de leurs croyances, de leur dieu et des images s’y rapportant.

Au-delà de cette volonté de « montrer Dieu » se trouve l’icône. Une icône, (du grec εικόνα eikona) « image », est une représentation de personnages saints dans la tradition chrétienne. Bien plus qu’une simple représentation graphique, une icône possède un sens théologique profond qui la différencie de l’image pieuse.   En effet, dans la tradition des Églises chrétiennes orientales, l’icône est objet de vénération qui possède son énergie propre.  Celle-ci ravive la foi, protège la maisonnée; elle favorise la paix du foyer, éloigne l’ennemi de la cité.

L’icône est complètement intégrée dans la catéchèse orthodoxe mais aussi dans celle des Églises catholiques orientales qui ont préservé la tradition de l’icône ainsi que dans une partie de l’Église catholique occidentale et dans les Églises non-chalcédoniennes. En devenant objets de vénération pour les fidèles, les icônes ont été soumises, dès le treizième siècle, par les Églises de la Pentarchie, à de sévères contraintes artistiques (sources d’inspiration stéréotypées, rigueur du trait, jeux des couleurs). Jusqu’à nos jours, ces canons se sont perpétués, assurant l’étonnante continuité de cette peinture dédiée à la gloire de Dieu.

Dès la fin de l’Empire Romain et la montée de l’Empire byzantin, la scission culturelle entre l’iconographie traditionnelle romaine et l’approche plus stylisée des artistes orientaux devient frappante quant à la représentation des thèmes religieux.  Beaucoup plus abstraite et bidimensionnelle, la vision orientale  utilise très peu de modelé suggérant plus l’essence que le corps; des silhouettes légèrement étirées, des yeux, « fenêtres de l’âme » agrandis, des nez et des bouches étroits. Le corps dominé et immobile exprime l’universel, la paix, l’éternité. L’espace, hors la dimension terrestre, est représenté par un aplat de couleur or, énergie et lumière divines, ou par un bleu parsemé d’étoiles.

Cette nouvelle approche plastique arrive en parallèle avec la séparation des Églises de Rome et de Byzance.  La querelle idéologique et dogmatique viendra créer l’Église orthodoxe et les représentations graphiques inhérentes à chacune des factions chrétiennes seront radicalement redéfinies au sein même de l’œuvre picturale propre à chaque facette d’une foi somme toute identique.  Icônes peintes, en mosaïque, pierre, émail et métal, l’art de l’icône se propagea dans toute la sphère d’influence byzantine, mais bien au-delà, comme en témoigne la production éthiopienne. La Russie devint l’un des centres de production majeurs, avec les écoles de Novgorod, Moscou et celle, célèbre, d’Andreï Roublev, présentant une sensibilité religieuse, une construction de l’espace pictural et des champs symboliques nouveaux.

LES THÈMES

Les thèmes des icônes sont très nombreux.

Les icônes se classent, en général, ainsi :

  • Les personnages : Marie, le Christ, les apôtres, les martyrs, les saints, les anges…
  • Les fêtes commémorant des épisodes de la vie du Christ (Nativité, Résurrection…), de Marie (Entrée au Temple, Annonciation…), de l’histoire de l’Église (exaltation de la Croix, conciles de Nicée…)
  • Les représentations historiées : les scènes de l’Ancien Testament, les miracles de Jésus, les vies de saints…
  • Les représentations théologiques : le chemin du moine, le Jugement dernier…
  • Les icônes-calendriers appelées Menaions ou Ménologes.

 

Pour un même saint, les représentations sont aussi classées par thèmes. Ainsi, la Vierge est généralement représentée avec le Christ enfant dans les bras. Cependant, on parle de « Vierge de Tendresse » si la joue de la mère et du Christ sont accolées, de « Vierge qui montre le Chemin » (Odigitria) si la mère désigne le Christ, de « Vierge de Kazan » si le Christ semble debout à côté de sa mère, de la « Vierge du signe » si la mère est en orante (icône) (les mains élevées en signe de prière), le Christ apparaissant en médaillon « en elle » (cette dernière représentation renvoie au texte du prophète Isaïe : « Le Seigneur lui-même vous donnera un signe : voici, la vierge sera enceinte, elle enfantera un fils qu’elle nommera Emmanuel… » Es. 7.14). Chacune de ces représentations suit des règles précises, la liberté de l’iconographe étant balisée pour éviter de s’écarter de l’enseignement de l’Église.

L’UTILISATION DE L’ÎCONE DANS LE CONTEXTE MODERNE

Dans la confession orthodoxe, il est aussi important de vénérer l’icône que d’écouter la parole ou de lire les écrits. Actuellement, les chrétiens de confession catholique réutilisent de plus en plus l’icône dans la liturgie, sans lui donner la même richesse que dans l’usage qu’en font les chrétiens orthodoxes. Aujourd’hui, ce mot voit son sens élargi pour se rapporter aux personnages sacrés de toute religion.

ANCA PATRU DANS LA TRADITION DES ICONES

Anca Patru est une artiste du Québec d’origine roumaine qui, depuis plusieurs années, consacre son talent considérable à faire connaître cette approche artistique peu répandu en Occident.

Peintre aguerri, elle apporte la maîtrise de la peinture à une vision presque mystique de l’art.

L’aura de mysticisme et de spiritualité émanant des petites icônes qu’elle crée peut facilement rivaliser avec le travail des maîtres de l’icône travaillant dans les pays de l’est et ailleurs dans le monde orthodoxe.

Le Balcon d’art a depuis longtemps pris la décision de promouvoir le travail de cette artiste hors du commun et est fier de présenter une importante collection des œuvres iconographique produites par Anca.

En cette période pascale, pourquoi ne pas venir admirer ce travail profondément personnel empreint de réflexion et de paix profonde.