The global memory of art lovers sometimes tends to forget large parts of the history of some of their favorite artists. We forget how much Pablo Picasso mastered classical painting. We forget what Jackson Pollock did before the “drippings” or how much commercial work influenced Warhol and all of Pop Art….

From this perspective, it sometimes seems that an artist like André Bertounesque instinctively mastered the light and the colors he showed during the last period of his career but, obviously, such an understanding of art comes decades of research, hard work and patience.

 Born May 11, 1937 in Sainte-Livrade (Lot-et-Garonne), France, Bertounesque arrived in Quebec in 1951 where he cumulated various small trades while cultivating a deep love of painting. A hairdresser, he would paint at his workplace and sell his paintings to his customers.

A talented amateur, he is quickly recognized for the atmospheres of the intimate scenes he paints. But Bertounesque soon develops the soul of a serious artist…

From the end of the 1960s he started a much more formal pictorial research and his work quickly took on a resolutely contemporary tangent. Indeed, he begins to explore non-figurative/abstract art and quickly garners a solid reputation with a certain intelligentsia of the “serious” art world.

His work of the time, as can be seen in the example presented below, is absolutely in tune with what is being done in Quebec and elsewhere in the rapidly expanding world of abstract art.

But Bertounesque is more than a painter, he is a poet…

This is why in the mid-1970s he returns to a more figurative approach where he keeps with the economy of means that he had managed to achieve with his non-figurative experiences.

The characters that populate his pictorial world are often reduced to their simplest form: soft geometric shapes are suggested, populating ethereal atmospheres more or less realted to reality. In his still lives, fruit and other elements are taken back to the essence of their form. His landscapes and seascapes are often only suggested, the skillfully arranged colors taking the viewer to imagine more than to understand the places represented. And always, the concern for light…

Throughout this period – which will last for nearly two decades – Bertounesque will develop this deep love of light (astonishing for an artist who was blocking the windows of his studio!), which he uses more and more as an omnipresent character in the many paintings he produces and who find takers immediately offered to a clientele already sold on the artist.

From the 1990s on, the artist, perhaps a little nostalgic for the South of his native France, starts painting the southern landscapes he had known in his youth.

He then begins to translate his memories into powerfully colored paintings and it is from this moment on that he becomes truly “the master of light” as he will be described for the rest of his career and beyond!

There is a real magic in the light that literally populates his paintings. Many times, a spectator looked at a framed painting to try to discover some subterfuge that could have artificially illuminated the landscapes of the South re-imagined by the artist who had left long before painting them. It is also interesting to note that some observers have sometimes commented how much these landscapes and their light were much more of the imagination of the artist than a servile representation of the colors and light of a region well-known for those same colors and lighting!

Man of great passions – women, collections and, above all, endless conversations, Bertounesque at the end of his career had acquired such a reputation that he was – and still is – considered as one of the modern Masters of figurative painting in Quebec.

This giant left us suddenly in September 2005 leaving an artistic legacy of inestimable value for both his fans and the plethora of artists he has influenced.

S.M.Pearson, Le Balcon d’Art

AVAILABLE WORKS

La mémoire commune des amateurs d’art a parfois tendance à oublier de grands pans de l’Histoire de certains de ses artistes favoris.  On oublie à quel point Pablo Picasso maîtrisait la peinture classique.  On oublie ce que faisait Jackson Pollock avant les « drippings » ou encore combien le travail commercial influença Warhol et tout le Pop Art….

Dans cette optique, il semble parfois  qu’un artiste comme André Bertounesque soit arrivé à la maîtrise de la lumière et des couleurs qu’il montrait au cours de la dernière période de sa carrière mais, évidemment, une telle compréhension de l’art vient de décennies de recherche, de travail et de patience.

 Né le 11 mai 1937 à Sainte-Livrade (Lot-et-Garonne), France, Bertounesque arrive au Québec en 1951 où il cumule divers petits métiers tout en cultivant un profond amour de la peinture.  Coiffeur, il profite des temps morts pour peindre à même son lieu de travail et commence à vendre ses tableaux à sa clientèle.

Amateur de talent, il est rapidement reconnu pour les atmosphères des scènes intimistes qu’il peint.   Mais Bertounesque se découvre rapidement une âme d’artiste curieux…

À compter de la fin des années 1960 il entame une recherche pictural beaucoup plus formelle et, rapidement, son travail prend une tangente résolument contemporaine.  En effet, il se met à explorer l’art non-figuratif et obtient assez rapidement une solide réputation auprès d’une certaine intelligentsia du monde de l’art dit « sérieux ».

Son travail de l’époque, comme on peut le voir dans l’exemple présenté ci-après, est absolument au diapason de ce qui se fait au Québec et ailleurs dans le monde en pleine expansion de l’art abstrait.

Mais Bertounesque est plus qu’un peintre, c’est un poète….

C’est pourquoi au milieu des années 1970 il se redirige vers une approche plus figurative ou l’on retrouve toutefois l’économie de moyens qu’il avait réussi à atteindre avec ses expériences non-figuratives.

Les personnages qui peuplent son monde pictural sont souvent réduits à leur plus simple appareil : des formes géométriques douces et suggérées peuplant des atmosphères éthérées plus ou moins près de la réalité.  Ses natures mortes révèlent les fruits et autres éléments  ramenés à l’essentiel de leur forme.  Ses paysages et ses marines ne sont souvent que suggérés, les taches savamment arrangées amenant le spectateur à imaginer plus qu’à comprendre l’endroit représenté.  Et toujours, le souci de la lumière….

Pendant toute cette période – qui se prolongera pendant près de deux décennies -, Bertounesque développera cet amour profond de la lumière (étonnant pour un artiste qui masquait les fenêtres de son atelier!) qu’il utilise de plus en plus comme un personnage omniprésent dans les nombreux tableaux qu’il produits et qui trouve preneurs aussitôt proposés à une clientèle déjà conquise.

À compter des années 1990, l’artiste, peut-être un peu nostalgique pour le Sud de sa France natale, s’attaque aux paysages méridionaux qu’il avait connus dans sa jeunesse.

Il se met alors à traduire ses souvenirs en des tableaux puissamment colorés et c’est à compter de ce moment qu’il devient véritablement « le maître de la lumière » comme il sera décrit pour le reste de sa carrière et même au-delà!

Il existe une véritable magie dans la lumière qui peuple littéralement ses tableaux.  Maintes fois, un spectateur s’est penché sur un tableau encadré pour tenter découvrir un quelconque subterfuge qui aurait pu éclairer artificiellement les paysages du Midi ré-imaginés par cet artiste qui les avait quitté bien longtemps avant de les peindre.  Il est d’ailleurs intéressant de noter que certains observateurs ont parfois souligné à quel point ces paysages et leur lumière tenaient beaucoup plus de  l’imagination de l’artiste que d’une représentation servile des couleurs et de la lumière d’une région reconnue pour ces mêmes couleurs et éclairages!

Homme de grandes passions – les femmes, les collections et, surtout, les interminables conversations, Bertounesque en fin de carrière avait acquis une telle réputation qu’il était – et qu’il est toujours – considéré comme l’un des Maîtres modernes de la peinture figurative au Québec.

Ce géant nous quitte subitement en septembre 2005 laissant un héritage artistique d’une valeur inestimable tant pour ses amateurs que pour la pléthore d’artistes qu’il aura su influencer.

S.M.Pearson, Le Balcon d’Art

OEUVRES DISPONIBLES